[confession] I made a mistake

Ok, I hold my hands up.

A few weeks ago I sent an email telling you the best way to find viral TikTok shop products. TL:DR version…

  1. Find products that are already trending

  2. Use tried and tested TikTok shop frameworks

  3. Combine them and then repeat, a lot

And I still stand by that. But, I missed something. 

I’ve seen a load of creators talk about their views being down when they tag a product. As in, 37 views when they normally get 1000s. Sound familiar? 

After looking into it, I’ve found a super simple answer…

  1. Bad video

    OR

  2. Bad product choice

If you know the content wasn’t the problem, then it must be the product. And this isn’t hearsay — this is straight from TikTok.

{FYI: if you have any TikTok shop violations it's probably just view suppression. Give it a few weeks and you’ll be good to go.}

As an affiliate you’re given a Product Selection Score (PSS).

It’s a 5-point system for creators, going from 0 to 5. Choose a bad product, or even worse, a bad seller, and you’re in the dog house.

TikTok has come out and said that their algorithm will limit content visibility for creators with a low PSS. So, you listen to them.

If you want to maximize the reach of your videos, you’re looking for a seller rating above 4, and a product rating above 4. 

The next time you ask yourself why your views are down on TikTok, run through the following…

To your success,

The Brands Meet Creators Team

P.S. Ready to up your game? The Academy is waiting for you.